2017 SNB Teaching Excellence Award at WSC

Dr. Glenn Kietzmann, Professor of Biology, received the State Nebraska Bank & Trust Teaching Excellence Award at Wayne State College. Matt Ley, Chief Executive Officer of State Nebraska Bank in Wayne, presented the award at commencement on May 6, 2017.  Kietzmann has taught at Wayne State since 1989.  He earned his Ph.D. in 1988, at Iowa State University-Ames, his master of science degree in 1983, at South Dakota State University-Brookings, and his bachelor of science degree in 1981, at South Dakota State University-Brookings.  Kietzmann teaches human anatomy, histology, parasitology, comparative vertebrate anatomy, biology concepts, and general education biology. He helped create the Rural Health Opportunities Program (RHOP) at Wayne State and has been involved with the program since it began at the college in 1990. He advises pre-nursing and biology students in the Life Sciences Department at the college.

David Ley, the bank’s Chairman of the Board, established the State Nebraska Bank & Trust Teaching Excellence Award in 1998 as a way of recognizing and strengthening outstanding teaching at Wayne State.  State Nebraska Bank & Trust supports the college in many ways such as funding scholarships and capital improvements, and having employees serve on the Wayne State Foundation Board of Trustees. This prestigious honor is awarded on the basis of rigorous standards that require a superior level of effective teaching.  Congratulations Dr. Kietzmann!